Winter fun in Gosau in Dachstein

Outdoor activity holiday in the Salzkammergut

The winter, snow-covered scenery outside the window. Right behind this – impressive and majestic – the Dachstein gives you an appetite for more. This is what a winter holiday in Vitalhotel Gosau is like. Whatever way you prefer to explore the wintry natural surroundings in the Salzkammergut region is up to you. Adventure-packed or leisurely, day or night. In the contemplative mountain village of Gosau and on the nearby pistes in the Dachstein West ski region there are almost unlimited options for outdoor activities. It is not without good reason that the Dachstein region is one of the most popular winter sports destinations in Austria.

Romance on horse-drawn carriage rides
and on hikes by torchlight

If you would like to explore the snow-covered Gosautal valley, then a romantic horse-drawn carriage ride is perfect. You get to relax and enjoy the wintry landscape and the views to the mountains. The contemplative mountain village of Gosau is particularly charming, at night-time too. During a guided hike by torch-light you get to experience a night-time adventure in the snow – fun for all the family!

Get active and enjoy
some snow-shoe hiking and winter hiking

Snow-shoe hikes are a special adventure for all ages and are guaranteed to be great fun. Well kitted-out, head through the mountains or the fairy-tale woodland in Gosau together. On the summits you can gaze in wonder at the impressive Dachstein massif, which lies before you. Or gaze from the valley across the undreamed-of expanses of snow-covered mountains.

Hiking in the winter is a bit different, even without snow-shoes. Take the Panoramajet cable car up the mountain and from there walk to the alpine lodge at the Hornspitzbahn and enjoy some delicious regional foods and an unforgettable panoramic view.

Full speed ahead on toboggans

Those of you who have a thirst for adventure can let off steam on the free Rabenkogel toboggan run in Gosau. Action-packed fun on toboggans down the 1.8 kilometre route. Particularly keen tobogganers can be timed, while on Fridays things are a bit more leisurely with some  tobogganing by torchlight. An authentic, unique outdoor experience during your winter holiday in the Salzkammergut!

Winter panorama
and more on the Krippenstein

Those of you who are planning an excursion should head to the alpine plateau on the Krippenstein. If this is the first time you have made your way to the summit, a world full of snow adventure awaits! Dog sled rides, ice climbing, balloon rides and freeriding are just a few of the winter activities which you can look forward to. Whatever you decide to do, the 360-degree mountain panorama is always in view.

Pure fun on the pistes - Airboarding

Looking for an alternative to skiing or snowboarding? Then why not give airboarding a go on the pistes in the Dachstein region. The accessories you need, including training, are available in local ski hire areas. Let the fun begin!

Want a bit more variety during your winter holiday on the Dachstein? The team from Vitalhotel Gosau are happy to advise yo about further offers, in conjunction with their trusted outdoor partner "Laserer Alpin".

Winterfreuden in Gosau am Dachstein

Outdoor-Aktivurlaub im Salzkammergut

Vor Ihrem Fenster liegt eine tief verschneite Winterlandschaft. Gleich dahinter – imposant und majestätisch – macht der Dachstein Lust auf mehr. Das ist Ihr Winterurlaub im Vitalhotel Gosau. Wie Sie die winterliche Natur des Salzkammerguts am liebsten erkunden, bleibt ganz Ihnen überlassen. Abenteuerlich oder gemütlich, bei Tag oder bei Nacht. Im beschaulichen Bergdorf Gosau und auf den nahegelegenen Pisten der Skiregion Dachstein West bieten sich nahezu grenzenlose Möglichkeiten für Aktivitäten im Freien. Nicht umsonst ist die Dachsteinregion eines der beliebtesten Wintersport-Ziele in Österreich.

Romantik auf dem Pferdeschlitten
und beim Fackelwandern

Wenn Sie das verschneite Gosautal erkunden möchten, tun Sie das am besten bei einer romantischen Pferdekutschen-Fahrt. So können Sie die winterliche Landschaft und den Blick in die Berge ganz entspannt genießen. Einen besonderen Reiz bietet das beschauliche Bergdorf Gosau auch bei Nacht. Bei einer geführten Fackelwanderung erleben Sie nächtliche Abenteuer im Schnee. Ein Vergnügen für die ganze Familie!

Aktiv beim
Schneeschuh- und Winterwandern

Schneeschuh-Wanderungen sind für Jung und Alt ein besonderes Erlebnis mit Spaßgarantie. Gut ausgerüstet wandern Sie gemeinsam durch die Bergwelt oder durch den Gosauer Märchenwald. Bewundern Sie hoch oben auf dem Gipfel das imposante Dachsteinmassiv, das vor Ihnen liegt. Oder staunen Sie vom Tal aus über die ungeahnten Weiten der schneebedeckten Berge. 

Wandern im Winter geht auch anders, und zwar ohne Schneeschuhe. Mit der Panoramajet-Bahn geht’s hinauf auf den Berg. Von dort marschieren Sie zur Hütte bei der Hornspitzbahn. Dort gönnen Sie sich regionale Schmankerl und einen unvergesslichen Panoramablick. 

Volle Kraft voraus beim Rodeln

Abenteuerlustige dürfen sich auf der kostenlosen Rabenkogel Rodelbahn in Gosau austoben. Mit voller Action geht es auf dem Schlitten rund 1,8 Kilometer bergab. Besonders ehrgeizige Rodler lassen ihre Zeit messen. Freitags wird es etwas gemütlicher, und zwar beim nächtlichen Fackelrodeln. Ein authentisches und einzigartiges Outdoor-Erlebnis in Ihrem Winterurlaub im Salzkammergut!

Winterpanorama
und mehr auf dem Krippenstein

Wer einen Ausflug plant, sollte sich zum Hochplateau auf dem Krippenstein begeben. Wenn Sie die Bahn erst einmal auf den Gipfel gebracht hat, liegt eine Welt voller Schneeabenteuer offen. Hundeschlittenfahrten, Eisklettern, Ballonfahren oder Freeriden sind nur einige der winterlichen Aktivitäten, auf die Sie sich dort freuen dürfen. Egal, wofür sie sich entscheiden, das 360-Grad-Bergpanorama haben Sie dabei stets im Blick.

Pistenspaß pur beim Airboarden

Sie suchen eine Alternative zum Skifahren oder Snowboarden? Dann machen Sie die Pisten der Dachsteinregion doch beim Airboarden unsicher. Das passende Zubehör inklusive Einschulung gibt’s im örtlichen Skiverleih. Und der Spaß kann beginnen!

Sie wünschen sich noch mehr Abwechslung in Ihrem Winterurlaub am Dachstein? Das Team vom Vitalhotel Gosau berät Sie gern über weitere Angebote in Zusammenarbeit mit unserem verlässlichen Outdoor-Partner "Laserer Alpin".