Skiing and snowboarding
in the Dachstein West region

Winter fun on the pistes
in the Salzkammergut

What could be nicer than exploring the pistes in the Dachstein region on skis and snowboards? 140 perfectly prepared kilometres of pistes are the best conditions for leisurely skiing and for adventurous descents. There are routes to suit every guest, from easy to challenging and it is so good that your holiday home from home, the Vitalhotel Gosau, is just two kilometres from the nearest piste.

The free shuttle bus to the ski lift collects you directly outside the hotel and brings you back again after an action-packed day on the piste. A refreshment stop in the Moosalmhütte before, after or in between skiing is well worthwhile. It is located right next  to the valley station for the ski lift.

The biggest ski area in Upper Austria

The Dachstein West ski region is the biggest ski area in Upper Austria and Gosau is the main town in the ski region. Snow-assuredness is high in the Salzkammergut and the winter sports options available are almost unlimited. During your ski holiday you get enjoy an ideal infrastructure, with 72 ski lifts, including nine gondolas, 46 T-bar lifts and twelve chair lifts.

Well-equipped on the pistes

You don't need to bring anything with you for your winter holiday except an enthusiasm for winter sport. Professional equipment from skis and snowboards, to helmets are available to hire in the ski hire point in Gosau. A ski storage area, comprehensive ski service and a contemporary sports shop complete the all-round service offer available.

Perfect supervision during your family ski holiday

Families with children are very well looked-after in the Dachstein West ski region. In the ski school children and beginners learn how to ski, while in the ski kindergarten and Sumsi Bambini Club infants receive the appropriate supervision to suit their needs. Ski courses are available for adults and for those who have advanced level knowledge. As an additional offer, on and off the pistes, freeriding, ski tours and private lessons are available.

Action in
Freesports Arena Krippenstein

Not far from Gosau there is another pleasure-filled area for winter sport fans: Freesports Arena Krippenstein in the Dachstein massif, which is hard to top for variety and adventure. This natural skiing area is located at 2100 metres, so snow-assuredness is high. Keen freeriders, skiers and snowboarder can look forward to 11 kilometres of pistes. Fantastic fun is guaranteed on the 30 kilometres of off-piste routes and in the fun park.

Want to head to Gosau for a ski holiday? Then send us your holiday enquiry today and you will soon be heading out from the Vitalhotel Gosau into the winter paradise in the Dachstein region!

Cross-country skiing and fun on the slopes
in Vitalhotel Gosau

Cross-country skiing is really quite special in Gosau – glide through the magical snow-covered winter landscape, breathe in the fresh mountain air and enjoy the panorama views to the impressive Gosaukamm Ridge.

From Vitalhotel Gosau you get to head straight out into a cross-country skiing paradise in the Salzkammergut. Access to the slope is right at the hotel which opens up all sorts of options for you on over 50 kilometres of slopes. Five classic slopes proceed right through the wintry Gosautal valley. Explore the lovely mountain village away from the pistes in the winter. On two tracks pure cross-country fun in the relaxing tranquillity of the natural surroundings awaits – free of charge!

Gosautal valley – a winter cross-country paradise

Whether you are new to cross-country skiing, enjoy leisurely ski hiking, or as a professional skater want to get a good session – Gosau is a paradise for any cross-country skiing fan. As well as the classic slopes, the route network spans 15 kilometres of skating slopes and there is one practice slope. Tracks are cleared on all the slopes daily and they are very well signposted.

Suitable cross-country equipment is available in the ski hire centre in Gosau. The excursion train will take you there in just a few minutes and it stops right outside Vitalhotel Gosau. Another starting point for cross-country fun is the sports centre in Gosau. Free car parking is available there.

Variety on the slopes in Gosau

You can look forward to these cross-country slopes in Gosau:

Fairy-tale woodland slope (10 km)

The medium-difficulty Märchenwald slope takes you along the Gosaubach from Gosau's Vordertal area to the Hintertal area. Fairytale snow-covered woodlands and snow-filled fields await along the route, as do cafés and inns which tempt you in to enjoy some refreshments. Ideal for advanced level skiers.

Sport slope (5 km)

This slope is not for lesiure-oriented cross-country skiers. The starting point for this performance-oriented tour is Gasthof Gamsjäger in Gosau's Hintertal. From there cross through the woodlands, climbing slightly. The route then proceeds steeply uphill to Gosau reservoir. The route continues through the Gosautal valley, where a well-deserved break in Gasthaus Echo or Gasthof Gosauschmied is the order of the day.

Sunshine slope (5 km)

The start and finish for this easy slope is the sports centre in Gosau. Glide along the icy Gosaubach in leisurely fashion, taking in the impressive mountainous panorama of the Dachstein massif. There is then a slight uphill section to Hotel Koller. From there head back down to the starting point. Suitable for beginners.

Interactive ski map

Skifahren und Snowboarden
in der Region Dachstein West

Winterlicher Pistenspaß
im Salzkammergut

Was gibt es Schöneres, als die Pisten der Dachsteinregion auf Skiern und dem Snowboard zu entdecken? 140 perfekt präparierte Pistenkilometer sind die beste Voraussetzung für gemütliche Schwünge und abenteuerliche Abfahrten. Von leicht bis anspruchsvoll ist da für jeden Gast die richtige Strecke dabei. Gut, dass Ihr Urlaubszuhause im Vitalhotel Gosau nur zwei Kilometer von der nächsten Piste entfernt liegt.

Der kostenlose Shuttlebus zum Skilift holt Sie direkt vor dem Hotel ab. Und bringt Sie nach actionreichen Tagen auf den Pisten bequem wieder zurück. Zur Einkehr davor, danach oder zwischendurch lohnt sich ein Besuch der Moosalmhütte, die sich direkt neben der Talstation des Lifts befindet.

Das größte Skigebiet Oberösterreichs

Die Skiregion Dachstein West ist das größte Skigebiet Oberösterreichs. Und Gosau ist der Hauptort der Skiregion. Die Schneesicherheit im Salzkammergut ist groß, die Wintersport-Möglichkeiten sind nahezu unbegrenzt. Profitieren Sie in Ihrem Skiurlaub von einer idealen Infrastruktur mit 72 Skiliften, darunter neun Gondelbahnen, 46 Schlepplifte und zwölf Sessellifte.

Gut ausgestattet auf die Pisten

Mitbringen müssen Sie in Ihren Winterurlaub nichts außer der Lust am Wintersport. Ihr professionelles Equipment von den Skiern und dem Snowboard bis zum Helm holen Sie sich im Skiverleih Gosau ab. Ein Skidepot, umfassender Skiservice und der moderne Sportshop gehören dort zum Rundum-Serviceangebot.

Perfekt betreut im Familien-Skiurlaub

Familien mit Kindern sind in der Skiregion Dachstein West bestens betreut. In der Skischule lernen Kinder und Anfänger, worauf es beim Fahren ankommt. Und die kleinsten Gäste werden im Ski-Kindergarten und im Sumsi-Bambini-Club altersgerecht betreut. Skikurse werden für Erwachsene sowie Fortgeschrittene angeboten. Als Zusatzangebot auf und abseits der Piste stehen Freeriding, Skitouren und Privatstunden auf dem Programm.

Action in der
Freesports Arena Krippenstein

Nicht weit von Gosau entfernt liegt ein weiterer Vergnügungsplatz für Wintersport-Fans. Die Freesports Arena Krippenstein im Dachsteinmassiv ist an Abwechslung und Abenteuern kaum zu überbieten. Auf 2.100 Metern befindet sich das Naturskigebiet, auch hier ist die Schneesicherheit hoch. Begeisterte Freerider, Skifahrer und Snowboarder dürfen sich auf 11 Kilometer Pistenabfahrten freuen. Doch der größte Spaß ist auf den 30 Kilometern der Off-Pisten und im Funpark garantiert. 

Sie wünschen sich schon in den Skiurlaub nach Gosau? Dann schicken Sie uns jetzt Ihre individuelle Urlaubsanfrage, und schon bald starten Sie vom Vitalhotel Gosau aus ins Winterparadies der Dachsteinregion!

Langlaufen und Loipenspaß
im Vitalhotel Gosau

Langlaufen in Gosau ist etwas ganz Besonderes: Gleiten Sie durch eine zauberhaft verschneite Winterlandschaft, atmen Sie frische Bergluft ein und genießen Sie den Panoramablick auf den imposanten Gosaukamm. 

Vom Vitalhotel Gosau aus starten Sie unmittelbar in das Langlaufparadies im Salzkammergut. Der Einstieg zur Loipe befindet sich direkt am Hotel und eröffnet Ihnen alle Möglichkeiten, die sich auf über 50 Loipen-Kilometern bieten. Fünf klassische Loipen führen Sie quer durch das winterliche Gosautal. Entdecken Sie das liebliche Gebirgsdorf im Winter abseits der Pisten. Auf zwei Spuren wartet pures Langlaufvergnügen in der erholsamen Stille der Natur auf Sie – und das kostenlos!

Winterliches Langlaufparadies Gosautal

Ganz gleich, ob Sie Langlauf-Anfänger sind, gemütliches Skiwandern lieben oder sich als Profi beim Skating verausgaben möchten – Gosau ist ein Paradies für jeden Langlauf-Fan. Neben den klassischen Loipen umfasst das Streckennetz 15 Kilometer Skating-Loipen und eine eigene Übungsloipe. Alle Loipen werden täglich gespurt und sind optimal ausgeschildert. 

Die passende Langlauf-Ausrüstung finden Sie im Skiverleih Gosau. Dorthin bringt Sie in wenigen Minuten der Bummelzug, der Sie direkt vor dem Vitalhotel Gosau abholt. Ein weiterer Ausgangspunkt zu Ihrem Langlaufvergnügen ist das Sportzentrum Gosau. Dort stehen Ihnen kostenlose Parkplätze zur Verfügung.

Abwechslung auf den Loipen in Gosau

Auf diese Loipen dürfen Sie sich beim Langlaufen in Gosau freuen:

Märchenwaldloipe (10 km)

Die mittelschwere Märchenwaldloipe führt Sie entlang des Gosaubachs vom Gosauer Vordertal bis ins Hintertal. Märchenhaft verschneite Wälder und schneebedeckte Felder erwarten Sie entlang der Strecke ebenso wie Cafés und Gasthäuser, die zur Einkehr laden. Ideal für Fortgeschrittene.

Sportloipe (5 km)

Diese Loipe ist nichts für gemütliche Langläufer. Ausgangspunkt der sportlichen Tour ist der Gasthof Gamsjäger im Gosauer Hintertal. Von dort aus durchqueren Sie bei leichter Steigung den Wald. Danach geht es steil bergauf zum Gosauer Stausee. Weiter führt Sie die Strecke durch das Gosautal, wo Sie im Gasthaus Echo oder im Gasthof Gosauschmied eine wohlverdiente Pause einlegen dürfen.

Sonnenloipe (5 km)

Start und Ziel der einfachen Loipe ist das Sportzentrum in Gosau. Entlang des vereisten Gosaubachs gleiten Sie gemütlich dem beeindruckenden Bergpanorama der Dachsteinwelt entgegen. Danach geht es leicht bergauf zum Hotel Koller. Von dort fahren Sie mit Schwung bergab zurück zum Ausgangspunkt. Für Anfänger geeignet.

Interaktive Skikarte