Hiking in the Salzkammergut

Summer holiday in Vitalhotel Gosau

An activity holiday in the Salzkammergut is filled with highlights. While hiking through pastures, woodlands and the nature conservation areas you get to discover rare plant and animal realms. Rest and relaxation are part of this, as is the view to the majestic Dachstein and the impressive Gosaukamm Ridge. Mountaineers get to gaze in wonder at the lush pastures and the blue lakes in the Salzkammergut from a bird's eye perspective. One thing is certain: during your hiking holiday in Gosau you will always be out and about on first-rate hiking trails.

There are tours to suit every hiker in the UNESCO world heritage region around Hoher Dachstein. High alpine via ferrata routes can be found here as can long paths through flat valleys. Explore the Dachstein region under your own steam or during a guided tour. Whatever you prefer.

Ascent to the natural gem that is Löckernmoos

It is a two hour hike from Gosau up to the Löckernmoos. The path takes you past impressive 'Schleifsteinbrüchen' quarries. Along forest roads and signposted hiking trails, you climb up to Löckernsee and to the moor which is over 10,000 years old. The meditation area is in a peaceful location in the forest and has rightly been named as the loveliest place in Upper Austria.

Family adventure
on the SalzAlpenTour

The SalzAlpenTour has been awarded the 'Wandersiegel für Premiumwege' (a hiking seal of approval for premium routes). It is also suitable for inexperienced hikers and families alike, but is anything but dull. From the Kirchenwirt in Gosau the route proceeds through the town, into shaded woodlands, along babbling streams and across wooden bridges. In the interim you could factor in a few short breaks to enjoy the superb views to the idyllic Gosau and the surrounding pastureland.

Going around Lake Gosau
enjoying the views to the Dachstein

You get  to enjoy one of the most sought-after and loveliest views to the 'König' Dachstein (King of the Dachstein Mountains) from Lake Gosau. The hike around the lake is easy for anyone to negotiate and takes around an hour and a half. On one side the woodlands on the steep slope and the vertical cliff faces are spectacular, while on the other the sun shines across the blossoming pastures. Enjoy a rest on the soft moss or cool down in the crystal-clear waters of the lake.

Dachstein circular hiking route
for advanced level hikers

The Dachstein circular hiking route is not for beginners – it proceeds through Gosau and takes you to Bad Goisern. On the way you are rewarded with views to Hallstätter See. The highest point of the stage is at 1629 metres. From there it is not too far to get to the little Kalmoos Church and to the traditional Goiserer Hütte. Hard-working hikers really will have earned the delicious treats served there.

If you would like to plan a bespoke hike, the team at Vitalhotel Gosau are happy to provide you with information about the loveliest routes in the Dachstein region.

Summer paradise for cyclists in Vitalhotel Gosau

Attention all bike fans! Did you know that the Dachstein-Salzkammergut holiday region has been a certified mountain biking region since 2016? The ideal setting for unlimited adventure on two wheels during your summer holiday. And the loveliest thing about it - Vitalhotel Gosau is right in the thick of this cycling paradise, right on the nearest cycle trail. Get your free cycle map from Reception, hire a bike or an E-Bike in the hotel and get pedalling. After all there is so much to explore in and around Gosau!

It is not just ambitious mountain bikers who are well catered-for in the Dachstein region. Leisurely cycle tours for connoisseurs are available here just as much as the exacting trails up to the lofty heights. Depending on the difficulty level of your tour, you will scale mountains, explore valleys, discover traditional lodges and crystal-clear lakes, which tempt you in to cool down. One thing is certain: the natural surroundings in the Salzkammergut region are filled with variety for all cyclists. Picture postcard idyll included.

Dachstein-Salzkammergut bike region

Located in the heart of Austria, the bike region of Salzkammergut is a real gem – the adventure value for your holiday is priceless. There are 70 routes on 1450 kilometres to tackle. The entire network is signposted throughout. Nonetheless, those of you who want a bit of a hand, could head for the Mountain Bike Competence Centre Salzkammergut. The bike pros here offer guided tours, taster courses and training in the right cycle technique. And you can get the compact mountain bike guide which has the best routes and lots of insider tips.

A challenge – a circuit of the Dachstein

One of the most popular bike tours in the Salzkammergut is the 'Dachsteinrunde'. It spans 337 kilometres, heading through three federal states. There are four routes to choose from, with varying difficulty levels: black (challenging), red (average), blue (for beginners) and an E-Bike route. There is some 7900 metres altitude to tackle. Cycle from Gosau to the Dachstein plateau and in so doing explore Ausseerland, Ennstal and Salzburger Land. A highlight is without doubt the views to Hallstätter See. For multi-day tours luggage transfer and overnight stay options are available to book.

Mountain bike tours in Gosau

Forest trails, sections where you have to carry the bike, trails, asphalt roads and sections where you have to push the bike. You will find all this in the cycling paradise of Gosau. For instance why not  tackle the Hornspitz circuit (19.9 km, difficulty level 3), the Igelmoos circuit (23.8 km, difficulty level  2-3) or the Plassen circuit (43 km, difficulty level  4). What all these tours have in common – breath-taking mountain panoramas which you seldom see.

Wandern im Salzkammergut

Sommerurlaub im Vitalhotel Gosau

Ein Aktivurlaub im Salzkammergut steckt voller Highlights. Beim Wandern durch Wiesen, Wälder und Naturschutzgebiete entdecken Sie seltene Pflanzen- und Tierwelten. Ruhe und Entspannung gehören genauso dazu wie der Blick auf den majestätischen Dachstein und den imposanten Gosaukamm. Bergsteiger dürfen die grünen Wiesen und blauen Seen des Salzkammerguts aus der Vogelperspektive bewundern. Eines ist sicher: In Ihrem Wanderurlaub in Gosau sind Sie stets auf erstklassigen Wanderwegen unterwegs. 

Für jedes Wanderer-Herz gibt es in der UNESCO-Welterberegion rund um den Hohen Dachstein eine passende Tour. Hochalpine Klettersteige finden Sie dort genauso wie ausgiebige Spazierwege durch flache Täler. Erkunden Sie die Dachsteinregion auf eigene Faust oder bei einer geführten Tour. So, wie Sie es am liebsten haben.

Aufstieg zum Naturjuwel Löckernmoos

Zwei Stunden wandern Sie von Gosau aus hinauf zum Löckernmoos. Der Weg führt Sie vorbei an den beeindruckenden Schleifsteinbrüchen. Entlang von Forststraßen und markierten Wanderwegen steigen Sie hinauf zum Löckernsee und dem mehr als 10.000 Jahre alten Moor. Der Meditationsplatz, der dort versteckt und ruhig im Wald liegt, wurde zurecht zum schönsten Platz Oberösterreichs gekürt.

Familienerlebnis
auf der SalzAlpenTour

Die SalzAlpenTour ist mit dem „Wandersiegel für Premiumwege“ ausgezeichnet. Sie ist zwar auch für unerfahrene Wanderer und Familien geeignet, aber trotzdem alles andere als langweilig. Vom Kirchenwirt in Gosau führt die Route durch den Ort, hinein in schattige Wälder, entlang an rauschenden Bächen und über Holzbrücken. Zwischendurch legen Sie kleine Pausen ein, um den herrlichen Ausblick auf der idyllisch gelegene Gosau und auf das umliegende Grünland auszukosten.

Umrundung des Gosausees
mit Blick auf den Dachstein

Einen der begehrtesten und schönsten Blicke auf den "König" Dachstein haben Sie vom Gosausee aus. Die Wanderung um den See ist für jedermann leicht zu meistern und dauert rund eineinhalb Stunden. Spektakulär sind die Wälder am Steilhang und senkrechten Felsen auf der einen Seite. Auf der anderen strahlt die Sonne über blühende Wiesen hinweg. Zur Rast lassen Sie sich auf dem weichen Moos nieder oder Sie kühlen sich im glasklaren Wasser des Sees ab. 

Dachstein Rundwanderweg
für Fortgeschrittene

Nichts für Anfänger ist der Dachstein Rundwanderweg, der durch Gosau führt und Sie bis nach Bad Goisern bringt. Auf dem Weg werden Sie mit einem Blick auf den Hallstätter See belohnt. Der höchste Punkt der Etappe befindet sich auf 1.629 Metern. Von dort aus ist es nicht weit zur kleinen Kalmooskirche und zur urigen Goiserer Hütte. Die köstlichen Schmankerl, die dort serviert werden, haben sich fleißige Wanderer redlich verdient.

Wenn Sie Ihre Wanderung gerne individuell planen möchten, gibt Ihnen das Team des Vitalhotels Gosau gerne Auskunft über die schönsten Routen der Dachsteinregion.

Sommerparadies für Biker im Vitalhotel Gosau

Bikefans aufgepasst! Wussten Sie, dass die Urlaubsregion Dachstein-Salzkammergut seit 2016 eine zertifizierte Mountainbike-Region ist? Das ist die ideale Voraussetzung für grenzenlose Abenteuer auf zwei Rädern in Ihrem Sommerurlaub. Und das Schönste daran: Das Vitalhotel Gosau liegt mittendrin im Bikerparadies, direkt am nächsten Radweg. Holen Sie sich an der Rezeption Ihre kostenlose Radkarte, leihen Sie sich im Hotel ein Fahrrad oder E-Bike aus, und los geht’s. Denn in und rund um Gosau gibt es viel zu erkunden!

Nicht nur ambitionierte Mountainbiker kommen in der Dachstein-Region auf ihre Kosten. Gemütliche Radtouren für Genießer sind genauso möglich wie anspruchsvolle Trails in luftigen Höhen. Je nach Schwierigkeitsgrad Ihrer Tour erklimmen Sie Berge, erkunden Täler, entdecken urige Hütten und kristallklare Seen, die zum Abkühlen einladen. Eines ist sicher: Die Natur des Salzkammerguts steckt voller Abwechslung für Biker und Radfahrer. Postkartenidylle inklusive.

Bikeregion Dachstein-Salzkammergut

Im Herzen Österreichs gelegen ist die Bikeregion Salzkammergut ein wahrer Diamant – der Erlebniswert für Ihren Urlaub ist unbezahlbar. 70 Routen auf 1.450 Kilometern gilt es zu bezwingen. Das gesamte Streckennetz ist ausgezeichnet beschildert. Wer sich dennoch Unterstützung wünscht, wendet sich an das Mountainbike-Kompetenzzentrum Salzkammergut. Die Bikeprofis bieten geführte Touren, Schnupperkurse und Trainings für die richtige Fahrradtechnik an. Oder Sie holen sich zur Orientierung den kompakten Mountainbike-Guide mit den besten Strecken und vielen Geheimtipps.

Herausforderung Dachsteinrunde

Eine der beliebtesten Biketouren im Salzkammergut ist die Dachsteinrunde. Sie führt über 337 Kilometer durch drei Bundesländer. Dabei wählen Sie je nach Schwierigkeitsgrad zwischen vier Strecken: schwarz (anspruchsvoll), rot (mittel), blau (für Einsteiger) oder E-Bike. Dabei legen Sie bis zu 7.900 Höhenmeter zurück. Umrunden Sie von Gosau aus das Dachsteinplateau und erkunden Sie dabei das Ausseerland, das Ennstal und das Salzburger Land. Ein Highlight ist mit Sicherheit der Blick auf den Hallstätter See. Bei Mehrtages-Touren können Gepäcktransfer und Übernachtungsmöglichkeiten gebucht werden.

Mountainbike-Touren in Gosau

Forststraßen, Tragepassagen, Trails, Asphaltstraßen und Schiebestrecken. Das alles finden Sie im Bikeparadies Gosau. Bestreiten Sie zum Beispiel die Hornspitzrunde (19,9 km, Schwierigkeitsgrad 3), die Igelmoosrunde (23,8 km, Schwierigkeitsgrad 2-3) oder die Plassen-Runde (43 km, Schwierigkeitsgrad 4). Was alle Touren gemeinsam haben: atemberaubende Bergpanoramen mit Seltenheitswert.